Eusebio Pedroza vs Johnny Aba

Enter your Eusebio Pedroza vs Johnny Aba fan card
CONTROVERSY RATING: N/A
The percentage of fan cards that disagree with an official result. Exclusively on EYE ON THE RING.
Eusebio Pedroza vs Johnny Aba
Fan Rating: 
0
Your rating: None
4
Average: 4 (1 vote)

Date: 
Saturday, November 17, 1979
Location: 
Sir Hubert Murray Stadium, Port Moresby, Papua New Guinea
Rounds Scheduled: 
15
Contracted Weight: 
126
Titles at Stake: 
WBA featherweight world title
Referee: 
Stanley Christodoulou

More:






Fan Cards: Eusebio Pedroza vs Johnny Aba


scorecard by MATCHROOM
Round
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
Total
EUSEBIO PEDROZA
9
10
9
10
10
10
9
9
10
10
96
JOHNNY ABA
10
9
10
9
9
9
10
10
9
9
94


scorecard by NARUTO
Round
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
Total
EUSEBIO PEDROZA
9
10
9
10
10
10
9
9
10
10
96
JOHNNY ABA
10
9
10
9
9
9
10
10
9
9
94


scorecard by WHAT_IS_THE_DEFAULT_PASSWORD
Round
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
Total
EUSEBIO PEDROZA
10
10
9
10
10
10
9
9
10
10
97
JOHNNY ABA
10
9
10
9
9
9
10
10
9
9
94


Comments

what_is_the_default_password's picture

A good fight with a shocking end.

The two fighters alternated between boxing and all-out slugging. Somewhat out of character, the champion Pedroza was more inclined to showboat in this fight, giving us funny Ali shuffles.

In the 11th round, Aba tumbled out of the ropes and hit his head the wrong way. The referee ruled it a TKO win for Pedroza. Pedroza did not punch Aba through the ropes, he pushed him out. Aba was charging towards the champion and the champion gave Aba a slight push on the back to get away from Aba, the combined momentum was enough to send Aba through the gaping hole in the flimsy three-rope set-up of the ring.

As the commentators mentioned, theoretically the referee could have disqualified Pedroza as the foul led to Aba being unable to continue. This was boxing, not Lei Tai fighting where throwing an opponent off-stage is considered a win. At the same time I don't think Pedroza pushed Aba with the intention to throw him out of the ropes, they were a bit too far from the ropes for that to happen with certainty. If I was the referee I wouldn't feel comfortable disqualifying an established champion due to a freak accident arising from a relatively 'harmless' foul. Perhaps a technical decision would be more appropriate here, even though the push was more likely intentional than accidental. Then again I think the fight should have been stopped in the 10th round, Aba was getting beaten badly there.

When you defend your title long enough, weird things are bound to happen...